Though our group is new to Torg Eternity, I've been learning from the experienced gamers on the Torg forums. Based on their suggestions, I'm adopting some of their house rules. As our experience with Torg Eternity grows, these house rules may end up moved to their own page, with this becoming more of a general landing page.
Gamehacking Notes: The expected bonus result of rolling a single Torg d20 once is approximately +0.25 (not including the 5% odds of auto-fail). The average result of a bonus die is exactly +4 (+4.75 if you can reroll 1s).
This sheet is ink-friendly and makes good use of space. It doesn't do calculations or have drop-down boxes, but that's by design. Few things are as frustrating as being unable to put "Special" or "See Notes" in a pre-calculated field.
House Rules and Clarifications
Note: I do not use the optional "(Cosm) Possibility Energy" rules from each cosm book. It's unnecessarily complicated, and Cosm Cards already handle this concept just fine.
It sometimes makes sense for a character to pick up (in play) a perk or arcane ability from a cosm they aren't native to. This is allowed, but such an ability always causes a personal contradiction! In other words, it's a one-case contradiction even in the cosm from which it stems (unless you have the Adaptable perk). In every other cosm, it's a one-case contradiction (even with Adaptable) -- unless it requires the cosm's laws (*), in which case it's a four-case contradiction.
Much like perks dependent on a cosm's laws are marked with a *, cross-cosm perks should be marked with a ! as a reminder.
Falling damage uses the Torg Distance Table. Take the Torg value of the distance (in meters), subtract 3, and multiply by 5 (max 40), always +1BD. Or in chart form:
|6–9||5 +1BD||40–59||25 +1BD|
|10–14||10 +1BD||60–99||30 +1BD|
|15–24||15 +1BD||100–149||35 +1BD|
|25–39||20 +1BD||150+||40 +1BD|
Leveled Arcane Perks
If you take the same arcane perk multiple times (e.g., you already have Spellcaster and you take Spellcaster again), it adds two new miracles/powers/spells instead of one.
The Reality skill is based on Charisma, not Spirit.
Balanced, two-handed weapons -- like quarterstaves and longswords -- are excellent defensive weapons. As such, anyone using such a weapon gets +2 to their melee weapons defense (just as dual-wielders do), unless the weapon has the Min Str or Unwieldy trait.
Upgrading NPC Allies
A player with an attached NPC ally (e.g., a follower or animal companion) may choose to spend XP on the NPC instead of on her own PC. The first perk added costs the usual 5 XP, regardless of how many perks the NPC's base template contained.
Note that, at Beta Clearance, the Intense Training perk is a wonderful way to upgrade a companion or follower! But it must be taken by the PC (not bought as part of the NPC's character sheet) and it can be taken only once per NPC.
Official Rules Clarifications
- Torg FAQ and Errata
- Perks, even cosm-specific ones, are not necessarily lost upon transforming to a new cosm, just those that the GM rules are "incompatible" with the new world (like Spellcaster in the Living Land). Racial perks are the most likely to stay. Thus, you could create a starting PC edeinos who has transformed to Core Earth but still retains one or two Edeinos perks; however, she could not acquire any further Edeinos perks. These retained perks are not considered "cross-cosm" (!) as discussed above.
- Bonuses don't stack unless they explicitly say so. However, pay attention to the way damage is phrased; e.g., edeinos claws inflict a fixed "Strength +2 damage" just like a weapon, so they can receive a bonus on top of that fixed damage.
- Disfavored is a status not found in the core book. It cancels out Favored, or on its own, it negates the first additional die roll you'd get (e.g., from Up or from a Possibility).
- If you use a Multi-Action to attack the same target with two weapons or affect the same target with two different interaction attacks, the effects do not stack. Resolve both attacks (including damage/effect) and then apply the better result.
- A active defense cannot be combined with any other actions (just simple actions). You can declare it even if the villains have initiative (basically using your action early). It lasts until the end of the current round.
- The hand-size bonus from Glory cards is not cumulative; it's a flat +1. (As a house rule to compensate, after a Glory is played, anyone who has or draws another may choose to immediately discard it and draw another card; if you discarded from your pool, you may choose to play the new card into your pool immediately.)
- Casting an arcane power requires the target(s) to be in range, and within line of sight, but it can then be maintained until the duration ends (or for Concentration spells, until Concentration is broken).
- When forced to make a Concentration test, if the target of a spell isn't within line of sight and range, the spell effect ends regardless of the result of the Concentration test.
- If a "resisted" power (e.g., DN equals willpower or Spirit) is cast on a willing subject, the DN is unchanged but the subject can use Extra Effort to assist the caster.
- If the Drama card shows multiple DSR (Dramatic Skill Resolution) steps that would apply, one character can attempt to fulfill them as a Multi-Action. Alternatively, multiple characters can attempt those steps individually, in order, but all attempts have a penalty equal to -2 per step attempted (harder than a Multi-Action would be, due to the added complexity of coordination). For example, if ABC is showing, one character can attempt A, then B, then C, all at -4 for the Multi-Action -- or two or three different characters can attempt A, then B, then C, all at -6 for rushed coordination.
- Armor has three pieces: torso, head, and leggings. Full body armor covers all three. Other armor misses one or more.
- Flash grenades (from the Beta Clearance Player's Primer) just do 8 damage in a Medium Blast. A Good hit also causes one condition (Stymied or Vulnerable, attacker's choice), but doesn't deal any extra damage. An Outstanding hit inflicts two conditions. They have Value 5 if requisitioned; they are not normally available for purchase.
|Aysle:||I-uhl (like "aisle")|
|Kanawa:||kah-nah-wah (no stress)|